Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Remote Controlling

Status
Not open for further replies.

headcracker

hey friends...

i am a telecomm student. i don't have much idea about latest technologies used in remote comtrolling.

i wanted to know, if sending a sms to a remote device like a robot, can be used to control it. i mean its motion n all. can it be controlled by sending sms to that device

Anything that can be controlled with a text string can be controlled with an SMS message. You might be shocked at the quantity one price for a cellphone module that you can experiment with. Unless there is a cheap cellphone with a serial interface you can get your hands on, or they start making cellphones with general purpose I/O on them, your going to have to be adaptable and resourceful.

You can start with a program that associates actions with individual characters. For example, lets say we want a program to control a PWM(Pulse Width Modulation) scheme. If our CONTROL_VARIABLE is a number in the range 0 to 100 and the characters '+' and '-' are used to change that number then we might have a program like the following.
Code:
while(1) /* Do Forever */
{
unsigned char c ;

while(NO_CHARACTER_PRESENT) ; /* Wait for a character to show up */

c = SERIAL_PORT_DATA_REGISTER ;
  {
    if( c == '+')
    {
      if(CONTROL_VARIABLE < 100)
      {
        ++CONTROL_VARIABLE ;
      }
    }
    else if( c == '-')
    {
      if(CONTROL_VARIABLE > 0)
      {
        --CONTROL_VARIABLE ;
      }
    }