replacement for a tms370c742ant

Status
Not open for further replies.

zevon8

Hi I have no experience writing code for micro's. I have an existing circuit based on this chip, and have the code, both on spares and in hard copy.

Since it appears this chip is obsolete and no longer available, my question is, how "portable" is the code? Are there other versions of this micro that would run on the same program? Is it better to go with a different chip?

A lot of questions, I know, but any input / insight wuold really be appreciated!!

Thanks

OK, I admit to bumping

What I need to know, I guess, is has anyone used the TMS370 family, and if so what are the pros and cons. The current circuit design is for something really basic, a lamp flasher that has 2 levels of brightness, depending on a reading from a CDS cell. There are 3 lamp circuits, all identical, controlled by switches. The lamp PWM signal driving the FETS has the 2 frequencies for the brightness levels, and also can be set to output a very low duty cycle during the "off" time ( filiament "keep warm". )

I have no doubt this could be done by the PIC masters here, what I am looking for is a some pointers in what direction I should take this project.
Since I am new to this realm, I would appreciate any input as to what family of devices would fit my needs so I can begin learning how to program one to do this.

Thanks for reading!

I will now go sit in the corner for posting a vague question originally

I would suggest you try looking on the Texas website, but they seem a fairly obscure item - I've not heard of hobbiest use of them, and I've only ever seen a few Texas micro's in domestic electronics.

As you say, the requirements are very basic, a PIC would do the job easily.

As you admit to being unfamiliar with micro-controllers, so are starting from scratch, I would suggest using a more popular device.