Restart cell phone circuit

Status
Not open for further replies.

tremmert

Hi everyone, I have a cell phone that locks up every few days. It requires a restart by holding the power button down for about 2 seconds. Then once it is off, you have to hold the power button down again for 2 sec. I wanted to automate this process. Im thinking about using a PIC to control a transistor to short the power button out every 48hrs. Is this possible? Im a beginner, but have a little experience with electronic circuits...

Thanks,
Tommy

Well, I need to do it this way. I have several of the same model so if I break some of them, thats ok. The software that is running on the phone is all custom, and has many flaws. This is why I need to power cycle the phone every now and then. So Im basically looking for a circuit that will complete a second low current (I would assume) circuit. I just need the circuit to be closed for about 2 seconds, then open. Every day or so, complete the circuit and repeat.

Where are you going to put this circuit? attached to the back of the phone? Or on a base that the phone docks to at night or something?

Back of the phone. Im not really to worried about how it looks. The entire device will be in a box of its own. The cell phone case is not even attached.

So does anyone have an idea if a transistor will work or should I use a relay? The circuit that runs the timer will be drawing current from the phones battery.

It depends entirely on the circuitry of the phone, a relay will always be OK, a transistor 'may be', depending on the design.

tremmert said:
So does anyone have an idea if a transistor will work or should I use a relay? The circuit that runs the timer will be drawing current from the phones battery.