RF problem...wont opperate from batteries

Status
Not open for further replies.

strokedmaro

I bought 2 or 3 of these https://www.sparkfun.com/commerce/product_info.php?products_id=7816 with different frequencies. They work flawlessly on the mini PCB I made when powered by my power supply but nothing at all when powered by a 9 volt. I made a pcb with a receiver of one frequency and a transmitter of another frequency for 2 way communication. each receiver/transmitter pair is powered by a single 7805...Im not an expert reading data sheets so maybe someone can tell me whats wrong. Im assuming the 9 volt is incapable of powering a 7805 but maybe im wrong...please church me up if possible THANKS

Yes, a 9V batter will struggle to power an LM7805 for long because it requires an input voltage of at least 7.5V and the battery's voltage will quickly drop below that.

Use a low dropout reuglator like the LM2931A 5.0 which will work down to 5.6V at which point the battery will be totally dead.

You could also use a 7 cell pack of AA batteries in series. That will give you 10.5 volts and plenty of voltage overhead. A 9 volt R/C car battery pack will also do you just fine (and is pretty cheap) if you don't want to build your own pack.

To understand the problem, first estimate what your load is. The current draw for the receiver is only about 3 mA or so at 5V according to the receiver data sheet. The transmitter takes about 22 mA at 5V according to its data sheet. So the regulator must provide 25 mA at 5V to operate one of each at the same time. Assuming the 7805 is operating normally it will need some current to operate, about 3.2 mA typically for an MC7805 (from OnSemi). So we are pulling about 28.2 mA from the battery.

Next, have a look at the specs for a typical 9V alkaline battery:
https://www.electro-tech-online.com/custompdfs/2008/07/522.pdf