Robotics Object Recognition

Status
Not open for further replies.

nuttaphong191

I am new to an Electronics. I am basically a software developer.
I am planning to develop one robotic who will see the object in front of it and scan it and store it as image/map/or in pixel.

May i know how to go for it?
My basic questions are:
1. How it will look the object and scan an image and store?
2. Any Laser technolgy is required?
3. How to build an electronic circuit?
4. Overall flow.
5. In which language do i need to develop software program if any action is required?

Let't try these one at a time.
  1. Use a Charged Coupled Device (CCD) Camera
  2. I don't think so, but I could be wrong
  3. Design the circuit, fabricate the board, assemble the components
  4. I'm not sure what you mean here
  5. Any procedural language will do
There is a whole industry called machine vision that creates exactly these kind of devices and systems. Many companies have gone belly up trying to make and sell useful products.

Laser Imagers- start out much more expensive, but data is more reliable and easier to work with (it's just a bunch of distance reading in polar coordinates. The data gives direct information that can be used. But you can't do as many things with the data as imaging.

Imaging- Cameras can be much much cheaper than lasers. Processing the data is much much more intensive hardware and software wise. Data interpretations are less reliable though you can do more with the data. If you try to get distance information with imaging, you probably need stereo, or even triple camera systems and those approach or exceed the cost of lasers.