RS232 transmission

Status
Not open for further replies.

crush

programming novice here,
tryin to transmit a start bit 3 variables and a stop bit.
all varaibles contain numbers
I have written the code (refer end of post) to perform the RS232 transmission and am monitoring the data recieved on a prgramme called serial watcher, which shows me data in decimal.

The problem is on of the variables is 16bit variable (off_time), hence i am only recieving the lower 8 bits.
this is because the protocol is data width - 8 bits.
Any ideas as to how to overcome this problem wld be much appreciated.
Thanks
Nick.

Code:

init:
{ SPBRG=64; //baud rate 4800
BRGH=0;
SYNC=0; //asynchronous mode
SPEN=1;
TX9=0;
TXEN=1;
}
transmit:
{ start = 1;
TXREG = start;
while(TRMT == 0){};
TXREG = off_time; // 16 bit variable
while(TRMT == 0){};
TXREG = mux_number;
while(TRMT == 0){};
TXREG = grid_number;
while(TRMT == 0){};
TXREG = start; //transmits Stop bit - 1
while(TRMT == 0){};
}

Can't help you with C, but you simply send each 8 bits seperately, with their own start and stop bits - it's often a good idea though to convert the number to ACSII and send it as an ASCIII string, this avoids any null or special character problems.

if you don't like sending in ASCII string, just send 8 bit seperately and then reassemble into 16 bit in your receiver.

in my opinion ,you should use interrupt function to tranmist and receive the data
via RS-232 communication .It is not very difficult .You should use C language to program .It is easy to do it

I only program in asm, however, from your code the "off_time" varible that you are tx'ing, can only be tx'd as an 8bit number (hence the missing higher byte).

You need to divide your "off_time" number into 2 bytes, the way to do this in asm is to rotate "off_time" 8 times, into another register ("off_time_high"?) and then transmit this you will then end up with 2 bytes at your PC.