School Question

Status
Not open for further replies.

EOJ

I have a question, Electronics related, is there a difference between Electrical and Electronic Engineering? I'm under the asumption that Electrical has to do with power grids and powerlines and all that.

If you could do it all over again, what universities would you want to attend to reach your Electronics Engineering Degree? What areas would you speacialize in? Thanks

EOJ

There'll be no single answer to that, I assure you. It depends on the university/college, but in my case electrical engineering students have to attain a mastery in electronics, while studying electrical courses (you are pretty close, power is heavily an electrical subject) we'll have subjects like energy conversion & transmission, high voltage and so on.
Electronics would cover devices, semiconductor physics, electronic circuits (transistors, diodes, bla bla bla) and so on and so forth.
I'm an EE student, covering both areas, but I'm not specified to expertise (like some offer EE with an emphasis on power electronics)
There's a fine line between those two.

In many aspects its related on both sides. Your electronics all need to get their power from some place so that make having basic power electrical knowledge necessary to a point.
Or when dealing with the electrical power systems there is still a heavy degree of electronics involved in the monitoring, control, and power conversion aspects so its necessary to have reasonable electronics knowledge as well.

Basically do you want to consider 3.3 V -24 Volts at a few amps or less a normal range to work with or do you want to consider 24 - 1200 volts at 10's to even 100's of amps a normal range to work with? Electronics covers both of these power levels.