Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Seeking Advice - Hard wire USB

Status
Not open for further replies.

JAVO

Hello there,
Let me preface this with I am an extreme beginner. I couldn't read a schematic to save my life so please keep any and all answers dummy friendly.. :)

My Goal: To have hard wired USB ports in my vehicle.

What I can do, but dont like: I could wire up a cigarette socket use a cheap cigarette lighter to usb adapter and run a usb cable where I wanted.. I could do that but it's bulky and I really just want to make it myself.

What I think I need: I need a regulator to take voltage from 12v to 5v possibly a model 7805 ??

What else do I absolutely have to have?

I would like to do it with as few items as possible and take up as little space as possible as I'm working in some tight spaces. I've seen people make solar powered usb chargers only using the panels and the 7805. From there it's wired to the female usb port. I know the power coming from a tiny panel isn't the same as coming from the car but could such a simple design work? I'd rather not blow up my ipod, zune or my phone so I want to make sure it's right.

I greatly appreciate the help. Thank you.

You need the capacitors and resistors required by the 7805, read the PDF for it, it should be very clear. Mind you at 100ma your power disipation in the 7805 will be 1.2 watts.. If it uses more current say 500ma it'd be 6watts.. Not conducive to tight spaces.