Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Self-Parking Robot car, Help needed...

Status
Not open for further replies.

lotus2007

I am new with robot design, I am planning to build a robot car that can follow a line and leave the line to park itself when it finds a spot that's bigger enough. I planning to use a Atom Basic microcontroller to interface with the motor controller and sensors. I think infrared sensors are good for line following, do not know if it's good for object detecting, which I need for finding parking spot. I am also having trouble finding suitable robot chassis, I do not need anything fancy, the easier to program/operate, the better. I would rather a chassis that can go back and forth(easy parking so I don't have to deal with parallel parking), and left and right(following track), but couldn't find any like that. Anyone knows if th ere are chassis build like that? I went to Pololu.com and found a round robot chassis with two motorized wheels, I took a look at the datasheet for motor controller, it seems to only go back and fourth, no turning. I think I can get it to turn if I could just make one wheel stop, while move the other wheel, but not sure. Also I couldn't find any object infrared sensors online. Maybe there are better way of implementing object sensing, like I said I am new to robot, so any help is greatly appreciated.