Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Sequential delay Circuit

Status
Not open for further replies.

snooprob

All,

I am a general novice working through a design for a circuit to use in my home theater rack. I would like the 12v out from my pro-processor to to turn on 5 amplifiers one second apart. It seems I am doing pretty well on the bread board with christmas lights as dummy loads but my primary problem seems to be turning them off.

So what happens thus far.. i have power applied to circuit and all loads are off. When i apply 12v to the input phototransistor (right name?) the loads turn on one second apart. All is well, except how to I get things to turn off? Seems the 555 timers are one shot (monstable?). Do i have to use the reset pin or something? How can i do that when the 12v input goes away (but not the 12v circuit supply).

Right now only way to turn everything off is remove the 12v circuit supply (bench power supply). Insight on my approach would be appreciated!

Thanks.

**broken link removed**

I don't have that answer for you but one thing crossed my mind when seeing the triacs. What sort of wave pattern are you going to be feeding your home theater? Some of that stuff only likes pure sine wave. It may be better to consider relays, or at least driving relays with the triacs.

One problem is the 555 circuits

they are not configured as one shots
To have each triac come on one second apart then all shut off at same time is pretty easy is my first thought.