Sequential LED Project

Status
Not open for further replies.

Nesgodas

Hello, I’m a novice or worse, but can assemble things with the proper drawings. I’m trying to find a schematic that will light up 7 leds in sequence, leaving each of the leds on until the power is turned off, as depicted in this link.
YouTube - LAWGIVER MARK 2
Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks in advance.

You could probably use an LM3914 to measure the charging of a capacitor. Simple and cheap. Sorry, I don't have schematic for you, might be in the datasheet...

An LM3914 is a linear voltmeter that needs the capacitor to charge with a constant current circuit.
An LM3015 is a logarithmic level sensor that shows a linear response to a capacitor's voltage that is charged by just a resistor.

An LM3914 is a linear voltmeter that needs the capacitor to charge with a constant current circuit.
An LM3015 is a logarithmic level sensor that shows a linear response to a capacitor's voltage that is charged by just a resistor.

I am not following you here. Both the 3914 and 3915 have the exact same input circuitry. The only difference between the two parts is the resistor divider chain for the compare circuits.

I am not following you here. Both the 3914 and 3915 have the exact same input circuitry. The only difference between the two parts is the resistor divider chain for the compare circuits.

Morning Mike,
As agu is most likely sleeping, maybe I can help.

Its the resistor divider that set the difference twixt the linear and log thresholds on the individual comparators.

The LM3914 resistors are the same value, whereas the LM3915 resistors form a logramithic chain, mostly used in audio sound level indication.

WHY bother with the lm39xx chip??

an easier and cheaper way would be a serial in, parallel out circuit using a 74ls175 or the cmos version?
add a 7555 square wave clock and your done.
Might have to alter the outputs w/ transistors for a brighter light.
just a thought.