Servomotor actuated worm gear prosthetic knee

Status
Not open for further replies.

Aldrich

Servomotor actuated worm gear prosthetic knee

I'm an amputee, and not exactly an master engineer, not by a long shot, (I can't even remember how I passed physics back in college) but I'd like to try and take a stab at building my own prosthetic leg. I'm a welder, so fabricating a frame wouldn't be a problem at all.

My problem is a bit of a catch 22, I don't know what servo motor to use, as I don't know what sort of torque is required, and I don't know what torque is required because A. I don't know what worm gear I'm using, and B. I'm not exactly sure what forces are involved.

As it stands, my current prosthetic is essentially a swinging hinge. I can't modify this one, or I'd be voiding the warranty.

**broken link removed**

Those are some of the dimensions of my current one

**broken link removed**

**broken link removed**

Thats a 3d model of what I've decided would work best. I've considered nitinol wire working against a spring, but it was too complicated, and SMAs aren't advanced enough or cost effective for this sort of application.

The worm gear would produce the sort of braking I need without consuming any current for holding my weight up at a half-bent position.

As far as controlling this thing, I figure I'll build a battery bank (yes, i know this is going to be heavy) and hook up a rocker switch for forward/backward. At some point, I'd like to try and hook up a more elaborate swith, more of a joystick type deal so I could vary the speed forward/backward for smoother operation.

Anyone got any tips? What servo should I use, and from where? What about the worm gears?

A worm gear behaves like a gear with one tooth so the reduction ration is simply 1:the number of teeth on the cog being driven. Calculating the required torque should be simple, you know how much you weigh and the length of your calf to knee so it just a simple moment calculation.