Servos

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jevon

Help with digitals - This is my first time using servos and I understand how standard analogue servos are controlled. PWM-20ms cycles (50Hz) with the duty cycle determining its position. duty cycle normally 1.5ms for neutral position. Can't seem to find somewhere that explains how a digital servo is controlled. Assuming its PWM. What pwm does it need... freq. and duty cycle?

They are controlled the same way. THe onyl difference is how it's working inside- a digital servo uses a microprocessor while a regular (analog) servo uses other circuitry.

The servo responds to the length of the "on-time" of the pulse to determine its position rather than duty cycle or frequency (within limits of course). The off-time doesn't affect anything. YOu just have to make sure to send the "on" pulses frequently enough so the servo doesn't go to sleep.

thanks, was hoping it was the same. understand what you mean pulse just needing to be frequent enough.

will give it go now

having trouble my servos... they oscillate when given a pulse. the servo oscillate between about 5 degrees...thats not good. Any ideas on how to stop that?

tried varying the frequency of my pulses... but didn't help. the oscillation simply speed up or slowed down, but still oscillated. I've created my own PWM using timers on my micro and checked the control signal with an oscilloscope... seems right. Also tried using a pull-up resistor on the output of the micro... but was being optimistic to think that would help

ok... you were right. looking closer at my pulses... the on time of the pulse wasn't as stable as i thought it was. the on time pulse was varying between 4.9V and 4.5V... worked out that the 5V reg. that supplies the micro wanted a higher voltage, so just up its supplies to 9V and all my problems dissappeared... thank the pope!