Simple 1 LED audio display

Status
Not open for further replies.

hanswurst

Hello, I'm very glad to finally find a good forum about electronics!

I would like to build a simple circuit, that lets 2 LEDs flash when there is an audio signal comming from a source. I'm speaking about a stereo line signal here, so 2 channels and 1 LED per channel only (1 for left, 1 for right). The LEDs should then flash after the audio signal reaches a certain amplitude and this point should be adjustable with a potentiometer.

So very simple actually. I was thinking about realising this with an opamp comparator circuit first, but maybe even a transistor is enough to do this proper!? As I'm not an engineer, I would like to hear some opinions, hints here, from people with more experience than me.

Here's some more info about the situation,
the circuit should meet the following criteria:

- whole thing is 6V Battery powered
- circuit should not draw much current
- the audio signal should not be influenced by the circuit (disturbances etc.)
- circuit should be as simple and small as possible (i'm going to implement this into a very small device)

That's probably it. I'm looking forward to some feedback, thanks in advance.

Audio is AC. A comparator senses DC. You need to rectify and smooth the resulting DC from the signal to feed a comparator.

Maybe it's not necessary to use an opamp.
To keep it simple, I made a small schematics with a transistor.
Wouldn't that work?

Attachments

• test.GIF
    70.5 KB · Views: 334
OK, too simple maybe.
I just recognized that there of course should be something between the potentiometer and the line out, so that there is no influence on the audio.

Use a coupling electrolytic capacitor between speaker out and the pot. (100 to 220µF) should do.

Boncuk

P.S. If you are anglo saxon you'd better not use "Hanswurst" for your login name. A "Hanswurst" is called a "full idiot" in English.

Maybe it's not necessary to use an opamp.