Simple circuit design with photo-interrupter tilt switch

Status
Not open for further replies.

brucep

Hi there, thanks for reading. I'm an electronics novice trying to figure out how to integrate a photo-interrupter style tilt switch in a simple circuit. Below is an image from the switch's documentation. The full documentation for the switch is here https://www.nkkswitches.com/pdf/ds-bTiltSwitch.pdf

**broken link removed**

I simply want to use it to turn a group of LEDs on and off, the power supply will be AA batteries.

Excuse my terminology here, I hope you can follow: So as I understand the above diagram I need to provide a constant 5 volt power supply to the switch through anode and cathode, then, when tilted the switch will close the circuit between collector and emitter. I need to add resistors to the circuit at the anode and collector legs of the switch. This is how I'm thinking of wiring it up:
**broken link removed**

So my questions are:

1. Does the circuit above look like it might work?

2. The switch needs a 5 volt power supply, do you think I could get away with 6 volts (4x AA)?

3. Are there any small (around 3/8" in each direction) components I could use to convert 3v to 5v so I could use the pair of batteries on the right to power the switch AND the LEDs? It seems like overkill to add 4 batteries to the system just to power a little switch.

Thanks so much for reading and trying to understand my novice explanation. I really appreciate and input you might have.

Thanks!

Bruce

You should be able yo use the same set of 3 to power both. The resistor on the led side should then be arouns 100 ohms.

The transistor side is bad too. 100K is way too big.

If is about 20 mA, but there is a range. You might shoot for a design goal of 30+ mA because the battery depletes.

You can use the same supply for both sides.

The formulas are: R(ohms) <= (Vbatt * n - VLed - Vd)/If ;

If will be about 30 mA or 0.3 A for the LED side