Simple flasher... I think

Status
Not open for further replies.

floydian

I have a simple project I would like to construct for my kids but I can't for the life of me figure out how to do it. My daughter is looking at me and I don't want to look like a fool.

Needless to say I'm new to electronics and going it alone.

Here's what I'm looking to do for her.

The idea is to hit a circuit with a brief jolt of electricity.
Given the amount of electricity that hits... I would like to have an LED flash between 1 to 5 times to indicate how much electricity went through.

I'm assuming that since it will be a brief jolt I will need to store the energy for a moment before it is released into the circuit tp be read, but again... I can't figure out how to do this.

The other option (as opposed to a flashing LED) is to have a series of LEDs or an LED bar graph to make the indication.

cant I just use a LED bar?

Wouldn't this solve the problem right off the bat without having to create my own circuit?

I think this would make her happy without needing much work.

BUT... if she wants to use the flashing light thing... I'm still stuck.

Hint, search for LM3914.
Look at the Electro Tech Online banner, there is a search button, click on that and put LM3914 in the search.
That may do what you want.

However....

Your project is not well specified.

The expressions: "a jolt of electricity", "amount of electricity that hits", "how much electricity went through", dont have any meaning.

Where is this "jolt" going to come from? It needs to be defined in terms of volts.

A bit more information about what you are trying to do would help.

JimB

The science project is to create a circuit to measure static electricity.

You know... you rub your feet on the floor and then touch the door and get zapped.

The idea is to show how much voltage is being discharged.

YES YES I know that using a voltimeter is the easy way but we want something more creative.