Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Simple Joystick Project

Status
Not open for further replies.

pwierz

Hi,
I'm a software developer and I'm working on a project in my spare time. My project requires a joystick that I will need to design but from a microcontroller standpoint, it's a standard joystick. Can someone tell me how much work it is to design a microcontroller (cheaply) that has inputs of a 1-axis potentiometer joystick and a few buttons and a USB PC interface? Is anyone out there willing to help me out with this? I have very limited funds but I could compensate a little bit for your help. Thanks for you help.

The USB interface is the hard part. Interfacing a POT, even a few to a micro controller is almost trivially easy. Define 'cheap' it means many things to many different people =) What's your budget?

The reason I put cheap in there is because one suggestion I've received a few times is to do it using a prototyping board. But those can get expensive and if I end up making, say, 50 of them, it's just not cost effective to buy 50 prototype boards. I assume the cost will be the price of the microcontroller, PCB, a couple of electronic components, and the one-time cost of the chip programmer. Am I missing anything?