Simple Project - AC/DC Switch Problem :S

Status
Not open for further replies.

JohnTurner123

hey, i am trying to make a simple project which looks like the single diagram below, it will have 8 circuits set up next to each other. the problem i am having is that the switch i plan on using is a DPDT (On)-Off-(On) Momentary switch
HTML:
http://cpc.farnell.com/unbranded/js-511clc/toggle-switch-dpdt-on-off-on/dp/SW03353
however it seems to be rated for AC only, i am aware that if you AC switches for DC projects it could cause the switch to overheat but i don't know whether it is too low or high rating :/

I am not too sure if i can still use the switch as i only plan on using either a AA or AAA switch, as im a newbie at so i dont know if the switch will work or not.

Or if the previous diagram above may cause the switch to overheat could i make the circuit like the one shown on multi.png?

thanks

Attachments

• Single.png
    31.2 KB · Views: 172
  • Multi.png
    84.8 KB · Views: 154
DC ratings are usually lower than the AC rating and have a voltage rating of 32 Volts DC. It all depends on the switch contact material. For switching motors at may be worse becase of the inrush current witch may degrade the contact material shortning the life of the switch. The only way to tell if the contact material will hold up is to get one with the proper rating. Motor switchs have a HP rating.

hmmm there is no information about what the switch material is made from :/...but the current and voltage from the batteries will be to low to burn out the contacts within the switch i am looking at buying?

Also would the diagram will multiple circuits connecting to one battery work, in terms of switching individual motors on/off for example i flick the first switch and that moves the first motor?

Last edited: