Simple scoreboard

Status
Not open for further replies.

Y2Breeze

Hi,

I'm pretty new to this, but in our hockey league, we are looking for a ultra cheap scoreboard for indoor hockey...

I've been looking around the net, and found a good-size single-digit display (7" - https://www.a1parts.com/digitdisplay/index.htm) to use

Minimum req' would be something like

Code:
------------------------
-  Home   Time   Away  -
-  00    00:00    00   -
------------------------

The counter would need to be able to go down from either 20 or 10 minutes (no need for custom time) and reset. It would but installed on a wall, and would need an external control (lower on the wall)

If possible
  • Short buzz when at '00:00'.
  • 3 lights for periods if possible
  • Custom time reset if possible to implement, but this would be because we are playing indoor hockey in a small shool gymnasium, and we would give the board to them... So a custom time reset could be usefull for them.

Control box could be like
  • Time reset (press one 10:00, press again for 20:00)
  • Score reset
  • Start time
  • Team 1 - Add a goal
  • Team 2 - Add a goal
  • Period 3-way switch
  • Power on/off

I tough of purchasing a pre-built one, but those cost a lot and too much features for what we need.

I'm pretty good on working with my own hands, but wondering how this could be done (electronic-side)?

I'm open for suggestions, if there are better way or parts to do this.

Thanks!

Olivier

Hero999 said:
I suppose a microcontroller is the only sensible way of going about this.

I'd agree. I built my first digital circuit (a foosball scoreboard circuit) using TTL logic over the past couple of years. It is big, slow, and uses too much power--but it does work.