simple speaker select switch request

Status
Not open for further replies.

buckyno2

Hi folks. I'm looking for a schematic for a 4-set speaker select switch. Basically, what I want to do is build a switch that would allow me to pipe my stereo to 4 different rooms or any combination. Can this be done with a mechanical switches or do I need a power supply? I'm an engineer (IT) but not very electronically proficient. Component recommendations would help too.

Thanks for the help!

Bucky

Just use mechanical switches but you might blow up your stereo amplifier.
Each set of speakers that are connected make the load on the amplifier closer to being a dead short. The amplifier has a minimum load impedance which is probably 4 ohms per channel. Two 8 ohm speakers connected make a load of 4 ohms. Four 8 ohm speakers make a load of 2 ohms which is too low.

Stereo shops have transformers that increase the impedance of speakers so more can be added to an amplifier. They are small so they reduce and distort the bass frequencies. Some have a volume control built in.

The trick is NOT to put them in parallel, put them in series instead - that way things don't blow up, you just get less power out.

Hi Nigel,
I think speakers in series ruins the damping provided from the extremely low output impedance of an amplifier on the resonances of the speakers.

Experts say that only 1 ohm of wiring resistance in series with a speaker make audible changes in the sound. Another speaker is at least 7 ohms resistance and might have an impedance of 50 ohms at resonance. Two identical speakers in series would have no damping at their major resonance. Boom boxes.

'Experts' often speak a load of rubbish! - I fully agree that putting speakers in series ruins the damping effect of the amplifier, but generally you can't hear any difference. Also, guitar and PA speakers are commonly wired in series/parallel, with no ill effects.