Simple speaker switches....I need some help.

Status
Not open for further replies.

AdamPrawitz

I am installing speakers in the ceiling of my house in six rooms. The speakers will connect to my stereo receiver for music in every room. But I would like to have a switch for each room on a single control panel in my office. Up to there I am fine, but I want to use some rocker switches that have built-in LEDs. I need help with providing power to the buttons. They are rated 25A at 12VDC. I want to convert the AC from the wall so that I don't have to use batteries. I would greatly appreciate some help because I am new to this kind of work. Thank you, all.

You cannot simply switch many speakers onto the outputs of your stereo amplifier. It will blow up (it will get damaged from too much current).

Your amplifier has a minimum load rating, 4 ohms or 8 ohms. If it is rated for no less than 8 ohms and your speakers are 8 ohms then the limit is only one set of speakers can be connected at a time. If the amplifier has a minimum rating of 4 ohms then two 8 ohm speakers can be connected to each channel at a time.

Stereo shops (now called home entertainment) sell transformers that can be installed in each room to feed reduced power to the speakers and avoid blowing up the amplifier.

The LEDs in the switches do not have a current of 25A, they are probably 25mA which is 1000 times less. If the LEDs use 12VDC then power them from a 12V AC/DC adapter. Connect the LEDs with the correct polarity.

I just want to be able to turn the speakers on and off with a switch. I was not planning on overloading the amplifier or turning on more speakers than possible. I just want to turn the speakers off and on with switches. Like if my wife is asleep in the bedroom, I want to switch those speakers off, but leave the speakers in the other rooms on. Is this possible? Or am I just a really confused novice? Thanks for the reply anyway.

The amplifier is designed to drive only one set of speakers.