Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Six channel A/D conversion plus USB

Status
Not open for further replies.

Larkland

Hello all.

I would like to be able to sample six channels of audio and send the audio to a computer via USB.

The audio does not have to be of pristine quality, but "stops and starts" would be a problem. The data should be regularly sampled.

I'm not experienced with PICs. From searching around it seems that most PICs would have multiplexed A/D, with only one A/D converter, of which the channel has to be selected before sampling. So that means that, say, 8000 times a second I have to change the A/D channel and sample a value, plus I have to send the data down the USB line.

From what I've read, I have a serious problem in terms of speed, and would guess that standard PIC chips would not manage this. I'd also have trouble, I would guess, with the total data throughput with USB.

I'm aware that I will have to have some analogue filtering ahead of sampling to prevent aliasing.l

Can anyone advise? Is such an application feasible with PICs?

If not, to what degree would I have to reduce the number of inputs before it's likely to work?

We would be sampling the output of a hex guitar pickup. Not yet sure on the required sampling rate and bit width, but at a wild guess, 8Khz @ 12 bit would be fine. In terms of USB bandwidth, 6x 8Khz @ 12 bit is less bandwidth than one mono 48Khz 16 bit channel. And USB audio can handle many 48Khz 16bit channels.