Skin project

Status
Not open for further replies.

qaiserms

Hello all,

I was hoping you could help me with a project of mine. I'm an engineering student trying to solve the problem of pressure ulcers on the human skin.
Normally, when you press down on your skin, it blanches (changes colour). In patients where a pressure ulcer is beginning its onset, the reigon where the ulcer is developing is red and does not blanch. This is hard to detect in people with tans and dark-coloured skin, so I was trying to develop a device that could detect changes in the colour of the skin quickly and efficiently for nurses and caretakers.

I wanted to use a device with electronics which I've been reading about, namely phototransistors and photodiodes. I was thinking I could incorporate them with a LED of some sort on a clear plate that could be pushed on the skin to elicit a blanching response, which could then be detected by the photo-sensor.

My questions about this are:

1. Is this idea feasable?
if not, could someone give me ideas on hat to look for if I wanted to make a compact skin surface temperature detector that was accurate to 0.1 degrees centigrade?

2. What is the better choice for a project like this? Phototransistors or diodes?

3. Finally, I understand that that light striking the base of these photo-sensors generates a voltage or current, but how could something like be incorporated with an LED? How do they go together in function? Also, how would this fit together in a device that would be placed on a clear plate of some sort that would be placed on the skin?

Thank you in advance!

If I understand you correctly, you are talking about venous skin ulcers which result from a lack of blood flow to certain tissues of a body, most notably the legs.