Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Sleep Function

Status
Not open for further replies.

parimi

Hi,

I am new to programming stuff. Can anybody help me out with this problem. I need to transmit the data once in 15 sec. In order to save battery life i am sending the controller into Sleep mode.
As of now the sleep function i am using is like this :

SETUP_WDT(WDT_288MS);
RESTART_WDT();
SLEEP();

My question is can we setup the WDT to 14 sec or is their any maximum limit to the WDT??

Or any other solution to this problem?

I am using PIC16F627.

Waiting for ur update....
thanks,
parimi. :)

Keep the WDT at 288mS and use a counter to work out when 15 seconds is up. If you want it accurate then add 288 to a variable until it reaches 15000.

The cost in terms of battery usage will be minimal.

Mike.

Thanks for the update Mike.
After completing the 288ms the WDT will generate a WDT wake up (read from the datasheet). So the program comes out of sleep. Is there any use in providing a counter?

The counter is so you know to either go back into sleep mode or send the data. Did I misunderstand your question?

Mike.

no. Last time i couldn't get what u r staying. I got u this time.
I will use a counter and see.
Thanks for the update Mike.

any idea how to convert the time into a counter??
how to find equivalent counter number for 1 sec..
time Vs number..

i thought for some time and couldnt find any answers..
so help needed again