Small Solar Array question

Status
Not open for further replies.

HarveyH42

Banned
I've been working on an outdoor lighting project for a few months (off and on, so many other things), and getting very close to completion.

I'm looking to wire 4 (maybe more, if needed) solar cells in series/parallel to get an output of 12v @ 100mA. Two configurations come to mind, and I'd think the output would be the same. I have no experience to draw from, so figured I'd ask and see if it even matters. Did a quick diagram, attached.

I etched and drilled a controller board, haven't stuffed the parts yet. Basically, it will charge 8 AA NiMH cells in series (9.6 volts), through a diode. I think they are 1100 mAH, so overcharging is unlikely. The controller will switch on the load at night time. The load, being an RGB LED fader. Which is built and functioning nicely.

Anyway, I've got about a dozen of these solar cells, so can add more if needed, but want to keep it minimal, as after the first is working, I'd like to build a second one.

Attachments

• SolarArray.jpg
    48.4 KB · Views: 156
I think you will find that diagram A results in a series circuit, so your current would be 100mA, whereas diagram B is in parallel, so you end up with a max of 200mA.

the general rule with solar panels is to series connect the fewest panels needed to get the voltage you want, then parallel up sets to increase the current output.

Batteries are the same, in series, Amp/Hours is the same, parallel it adds up.

You should place a diode in series with the output of the solar array also. This prevents the batteries from dumping into the panels when its dark, heating the panels and possibly damaging them.

In circuit A, I have 2 sets of 2 parallel wired solar cells, these wired in series.
In circuit B, I have 2 sets of 2 series wired solar cells, then wired in parallel.

Both are a combination of series and parallel.

So, in the first, 6v@100mA + 6v@100mA =12v@100mA