Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Snow Plow Blade Height Indicator

Status
Not open for further replies.

jaford1

Hi, I'm new at this and I don't know anything about designing or building electronic circuits, and would like to know if this can be done. I have a 4 wheeler that has a blade on it to plow snow with. This is run off of a winch to raise and lower the blade. My problem is that I cannot see the winch to see how high the blade is being raised and have broken numerous winch cables. I was wondering if a circuit could be built and mounted on the blade and 4 wheeler, that would give an indication of when the blade is raised to a certain height that would turn on a light or something. I would want this to work off of the +12V aux. plug on the 4 wheeler. Any help someone can give me with this would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks,
Jim

Some thoughts:

A. As suggested, limit switches might help to prevent the cable breakage problem.

B. As an alternative to the limit switch - could you monitor the current going to the winch motor? If so, an unusually high reading might indicate that you're at risk for breaking the cable. Not high on my list but it might be better than nothing.

C. I'd presume that the winch winds cable on a drum. Does the cable lay in one layer on the drum or is it a random winding of multiple layers? Reason for asking - some means to count drum rotations and portions of rotation might provide you with the feedback you need.