Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Solid State Buck Boost Convert SMPS Design

Status
Not open for further replies.

codex653

ok people, i'm new to Electro Tech here and i thought i would try out the forums and see how much people can help me with me next project! :)

anyways, my next project that i have is a buck-boost converter switch mode power supply. I'm going to be using it to supply both a positive and negative voltage for my 150 watt RMS power amp that i built (that's actually a bit underrated...it's closer to 170w RMS). The reason why i am choosing a switch mode supply vs using a transformer is because 1. space reasons 2. cost 3. weight and 4. i don't want the transformer's electric field induction into the wires of the amp

i have the basic outline for the buck-boost converter as shown here:

http://www.powerdesignersusa.com/InfoWeb/design_center/articles/DC-DC/dc_f5.gif

now, granted i will not be using a Bipolar transistor as my switch, but instead a power mosfet...in this case, a IRF640.

I understand the basic theory behind the buck-boost in that the output voltage is determined by the duty cycle of the PWM and you can get different output current and voltage ripple regulation by the selection of the inductor and capacitor values. I know about what continuous and discontinuous modes are (even tho i dont really know how to get the inductors to physically operate in those modes)...basically i know some theory about it.