Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Starting with a microcontroller

Status
Not open for further replies.

sara39

Hi everbody,
I wanna get started with micro-controllers and programming, as an electronic student i passed a course on microprocessors but i wanted to know what kind of a processor do you recomend i start working with in my own place at home?
thanx
Sara
by the way anybody heard of FPGAs?

If u have studied intel microprocessors, then the intel 8051/52 or Atmel 89C51/52 would be perfect microcontrollers for a quick start. Their assembly languages r quite similar to intel assembly. An excellent book for it would be Intel 8051 Microcontrollers by M. A. Mazidi.

For FPGAs, it would be better that u develop a sound understanding of VLSI & ASICs first. An HDL language, such as VHSIC or Verilog would be a good support as well.

Maybe you can learn PIC. it's really easy and they have lot's of internal peripherals. If you want to know more, read
Sticky: Newcommers, please read! (PIC regarded) Upd. 1

BTW: I think FPGA stands for flip pin grid array (a type of IC package)

I think FPGA stands for flip pin grid array (a type of IC package)
FPGA stands for Field Programmable Gate Array
It is a very powerfull parallel logic processing, but requires special software.

Andy_123 said:
I think FPGA stands for flip pin grid array (a type of IC package)
FPGA stands for Field Programmable Gate Array
It is a very powerfull parallel logic processing, but requires special software.