Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Static electricity in ICs

Status
Not open for further replies.

gboethin

Hi all, I'm a total newbie to circuits, and I'm having a very frustrating problem. I'm basically just testing a quad NOR gate right now. I've got it on a breadboard, with a battery power source. I'm using two of the gates, and the output of each is connected to an LED which shows me whether or not power is flowing to the output. Here's what happens:

Occasionally, both LEDS light up, when no power is supplied to either of the inputs. With a NOR gate power should be going to the output when both of the inputs are low. And when both LEDs are lit, I can kill one of them by supplying power to either of the inputs (which is how it should be). But when I do that, it will stay off. It won't light up again after I remove the power to the input.

Here's what's really strange. By touching the breadboard (with my finger), I can make the LEDS light up, like they're supposed to. What's even stranger... is sometimes when I sit in my chair in front of the breadboard, and take my feet off the ground, the LEDS die, but when I put my feet back on the ground, they light up again.

I can actually see this could be used for something useful, because right now this NOR gate is essentially detecting pressure on the floor. But I don't want it to do that right now; I want it to work like a normal NOR gate.