Stupid newb (Moi) has some questions!

Status
Not open for further replies.
Alrighty, I'm rather new to electronics allaround, but for X-mas I ordered a bit of PIC uC stuff and just got it not too long ago. A few basic questions I have:

Do I have a very specific power min/max in terms of current? I certainly don't want to cook the thing, especially since it isn't the most affordable thing to replace over and over. The specific uC I have is the PIC16F876A, just in case different IC's have different power ratings (Doubtful, but hey, what do I know?)

Next! Does the aforementioned PIC have any internal oscillator speed so I can skip having to hunt down 30pF caps for the 20Mhz oscillation?

Annnnnd, is the output of the data pins the same as my input voltage, or slightly lower?

Like almost any electronic device, the PIC will only take what it needs - which in a PIC's case is VERY little. Output wise you can supply about 20-25mA from an output pin - but you are also limited by the total amount the chip can supply - details are given in the datasheet.

Next! Does the aforementioned PIC have any internal oscillator speed so I can skip having to hunt down 30pF caps for the 20Mhz oscillation?

No it doesn't have an internal oscillator.

Annnnnd, is the output of the data pins the same as my input voltage, or slightly lower?

It's slightly lower, but not of any concern - they are logic inputs and outputs, and behave as such - with the obvious exception of pins set to be analogue inputs!.

Do I have a very specific power min/max in terms of current? I certainly don't want to cook the thing
Just power it with 5Vdc of the correct polarity and the smoke will stay inside.
Does the aforementioned PIC have any internal oscillator speed so I can skip having to hunt down 30pF caps for the 20Mhz oscillation?
You can use the RC oscillator option if you don't need an accurate clock speed higher than 4Mhz.