testing semi conductors

Status
Not open for further replies.

heyhi

I'm new at this but I'm learning on my own so excuse all this threads. when testing semiconductors such as diodes and resistors can i test them on the circuit board itself with an accurate reading .also do u know of any sites that will teach me to read a circuit board with out schematics like i said this is new to me but i like it and I'm learning

Resistors are not semiconductors! But again you probably tought transistors which are semiconductors. As about testing it depends of components conected to the ones you are testing. Try serching trought this forum, I saw good discusion about it. Reading boards is a like reading schematics if you know how components look like and their values.

heyhi said:
when testing semiconductors such as diodes and resistors can i test them on the circuit board itself with an accurate reading .

It doesn't give you accurate readings because your measuments are affected by the other components of the circuit board. Some diodes will give a reading of about 0.4 to 0.5 Volts on the diode test function, while still in circuit, which usually indicates that they are ok.

For most 2 wire devices ( diodes, resitors, capacitors ) lift one wire off the board for an accurate test.

Anything else it is better to remove the whole component to test it properly.

Hope it helps.

No; just the suspect ones.
Proper troubleshooting requires a service manual or a very good familiarity with the electronics used. Serviceable boards usually include test points and the Service manual will show you what to expect to measure at them, usually with an oscilloscope. The proper tools are a must if you want to get into the electronics service business.

PS your DVD player will use as many DVD related ICs as possible to keep the costs down, they are often very difficult to source and even harder to desolder & solder. Again special tools for this will all have to be part of your tool set.