Thought process behind a project

Status
Not open for further replies.

combustin007

Hello Everyone,

I am new to the forum but have been fascinated with circuits for all my life. I have been a programmer for the past 10 plus years and and have always wondered how different is a thought process when it comes to circuits.

Lets say I came up with an idea for a very simple thermostat which only displays the outside temp. How does one decide what parts be needed it. I understand now with industry advancements, I can employ a micro-controller and program it, and it should be ready to performed the programmed task and follow the logic.

How does one know that with that micro-controlled, I will need a this many resistors, and then this many other parts.

Any wisdom will highly be appreciated.

Thank you.

Well, the first thing to decide is it is going to be microcontroller based or based on a more simple IC? Assuming you decide that it is going to be microcontroller based, you have to determine how you are going to measure the temperature. There are many ways to do it. A simple way is to use a thermistor (basically a resistor that changes depending on temperature). So now you have an MCU and a thermistor. So now you need a constant current source to go through the thermistor so you can read the voltage across the thermistor in order to calculate its resistance. So now you have to build a constant current source such as one based on an LM317. In order to do that you need a couple more resistors. Now, you need a display, and you need power supplies, ESD protection, etc etc

Its basically an iterative process.
1. Identify a needed part
2. Look at datasheet to determine what it requires to operate
3. Determine from datasheet or experience what is necessary to tie it in to other compoents
4. Go to step 1

Last edited: