Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

timer switch

Status
Not open for further replies.

Hanson

Hello everybody I am new to this , I was just wondering if anybody knows how to make a kind of 5 v timer to power 10 small brushless motors for 3 minutes and repeats the cycle every 30 min and needs to be able to swith off the motors remotely if desired during its 3 min operation. Anyone can help please ?

Welcome to ETO!
More detail needed :-
How accurate must the timing be?
What are the voltage and current specs for the motors?
How remote is remote?
Can the remote link be via wires or must it be wireless?
Are the motors to be switched individually or all at the same time?

For standard timer chips like the 555, 3 minutes is a long time and 30 minutes is a loooooong time. So the logic core would be better as a clock and divider to get the 3 minute period and another counter to get the 30 minute overall cycle time. Or it all could be done in the smallest PIC. Beyond that, everything alec asks is needed to create a final design.

AND

When the fans are "switched off" in the middle of an ON phase, does the timer get reset back to the beginning of the on phase and held waiting for some kind of restart signal, set to the beginning of the OFF (27 minute) phase and left to run, or something else?
ak

Last edited: