to solder a processor die

Status
Not open for further replies.

forknowledge

let me start by saying i am not experienced with the projects i read on these forums. i build computers. well "build" is a strong word. i plug in parts and refer to it as building.

anyways, there is a process called "delidding". delidding refers to the process of replacing an oem thermal paste between the die and lid of the processor with the goal of reducing operating temps. i want to replace the oem thermal paste with solder rather than just using a different thermal paste but dont know how to go about it. i am considering reflow soldering (not experienced with that either)

Any suggestions/ideas are much appreciated.

Solder conducts electricity. Thermal paste does not conduct electricity. Then replacing the thermal paste with solder will short everything together. Thermal paste is made to conduct heat so maybe it is a better conductor of heat than solder.
How will you keep out humidity in the air when you delid the IC?

Solder will not adhere to the surface of the silicon and will have lots of air trapped underneath it. Also you can easily damage the chip this way.
I suggest you change the paste, and/or use a different heatspreader. You could try using liquid metal thermal compound directly, but no idea if its conductivity will come bite you in the ass.

hi audioguru and thanks for the reply! the die is usually soldered to the heatspreader from the factory. from what ive read solder is a better heat conductor than thermal paste. the thermal paste market is full of half truths and sales pitches so real numbers are hard to come by. without testing it myself i am relying on information i can gather. heat transfer is a whole other can of worms when discussing this on pc forums it is often mentioned that intel cheaped out by not soldering which is why the thermal paste is an issue in the first place.