Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Touchscreen project

Status
Not open for further replies.

MaxPower!

Hello all, longtime lurker first time poster,

I am planning a project involving this:

**broken link removed**

I am going to use some sort of microcontroller but since I have little experience with them, I want to make sure I'm picking one that will suit my application.

It says the screen is compatible with AVR, so I'm leaning that way. I have a little experience using a PIC before (my senior design project a couple years ago) and that's all for microcontrollers. The STK500 seems like a good tool to familiarize myself with the AVR before starting my main project.

Among other things, I intend to use the screen to turn on/off a few discrete outputs on the controller and display information gathered by accelerometers, and hopefully eventually integrate a tachometer and speedometer.

Can anyone comment on my choices here? Mainly, will this screen and microcontroller be up to the task?

Thanks in advance,

--Chad

It also says it's BASIC STAMP compatible, so would be perfectly fine with a PIC (a STAMP is just a PIC with a basic interpreter programmed in).

As you are already familiar with PIC's, why not stick to them?.

Nigel Goodwin said:
It also says it's BASIC STAMP compatible, so would be perfectly fine with a PIC (a STAMP is just a PIC with a basic interpreter programmed in).

As you are already familiar with PIC's, why not stick to them?.