Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

tracking device to stop people "borrowing my tools"

Status
Not open for further replies.

thegull

Hello,

First of all Im an electrician who's tools are constantly borrowed by fellow workers all day, (which usually ends up in someone else's tool bench).

As Im soooo fed up with walking round and checking other peoples benches I thought wouldn't it be cool to put a passive tracking device in the tools like a RFID where I can sit at my bench and scream across to my work mates accusing them being too lazy to hand my tools back!!! (and in the mean time reduce my trips to the hardware store)

So I was wondering if anyone can help me on this?, Im not electronically minded, but i will give it a go if some one can point me in the write direction!. I was thinking of maybe a distance of 10m .

thanks

I recommend a locking toolbox, put things up when you walk away or etch your name on your tools. RFID is an option but the only tags I know of that are small and cheap enough to fit on all of your tools are passive tags and the range isn't that great in most cases. You could mark your tools with RFID tags (while hoping the borrower doesn't notice and remove said tag, which after your first tracking expedition will be well known) and later walk by their benches. If a recognized tag is scanned you can be alerted to all of the tools of yours they currently have. Beats a cursory visual bench inspection.