Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

trafic signal:-help

Status
Not open for further replies.

ahtesham_rulz

Hello,
I am a 2nd year electronics student. I am trying to do a simple project of counting the time for which a signal should be open. I have thought of placing a laser at one side of the road and a sensor at exactly the opposite, when a vechile crosses this laser it is blocked from reaching the sensor and at exactly the same time a device starts counting the duration of obstruction.

Can any one please help me out as for which devices to be used. Any other sugestion concerning this idea will be greatly appreaciated.

please : - I am just a new comer in the field of electronics.

a second year student at what clown school? how can you be new to the feild of electronics and yet a second year electronics student! what is the world coming to!!

firstly a lazer is a stupid idea no only do you have isues with blinding small dogs and rodents but a leaf could set it off, or a small blinded dog for that matter. you also have the problem of amarican missiles mistaking the lazer as a target and blowing your little road junction to kingdom come!

most road sensors use electro magnetic induction, a big coil of wire when a car moves onto it, it creates an electromagnetic field or sumthin like that.
if you want to avoid major road work you could use a IR movement detector, one that one pick up small objects like cats or people but looks out for big hot objects like cars.