Transferring Schematics to Veroboard

Status
Not open for further replies.

jctproject

Hey everyone,

I'm new to designing circuits (most I have made has been simple hot/cold, light/dark sensor circuits).

I'm currently trying to make a project involving the lowering and raising of a horse jumping fence.

View attachment 62054

"alec_t" very kindly designed the following circuit for me:

**broken link removed**

However, as I am an amateur to electronics, I'm having trouble understanding it :/ .

Basically, I want to make this circuit using veroboard/stripboard. Unfortunately, the transfer of schematics to veroboard is not as easy as I had anticipated it to be.

I would be very grateful if anyone here would be able to transfer this circuit to veroboard for me or if you could recommend freeware that could do same.

Any help would be great .

Thanks for reading.

It's actually extremely easy, all you need is a pencil and paper. Simply print the schematic and number every node on the schematic, number every column/row on the veroboard. As you place chips on the veroboard write the grid location of the connections next to the node number, if a node has three connections to it then you know you're going to need a three long strip that's continuous, trim as you go.

Just give it a little bit of rough mental planning first so you can group components associated with one another a little better and place bulky components or ones that require specific board locations first, work the rest of it in as you go, always complete each node completely before proceeding to the next one, it's virtually impossible to foul up, just requires being methodical.

Last edited:
Just to nitpick the mechanics, putting that drivecog in the very centre of the skiiny drive shaft was the abolute worst choice. The shaft will probably flex enough to cause disengagement (the cog teeth will jump).