Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Transformer protection

Status
Not open for further replies.

XSoph

So, I'm a noob to electronics. I am trying to build an AC/DC circuit for metal etching and marking. I was using a doorbell transformer that has output terminals for 8v, 16v, and 24v operation and a bridge rectifier with a couple dpdt switches to create seperate ac/dc loops. I had everything soldered together and working and was in the process of adding an lighted arcade switch to the circuit. I had my multimeter hooked up to the output leads and the circuit switched to AC when I saw a puff of magic smoke and pulled the plug. I placed my hand on the transformer and it was warmer than normal. Ten seconds later, the transformer was getting really hot. I had only applied power for a few seconds, so I'm guessing the transformer shorted and fried itself. Should I have added a resistor to each, the AC and DC loops or would that drop my voltage too low? I'm looking for output from 10-16v and 20-24v. How do you guys protect your transformers? Btw, the load on the circuit will be the 5v led in the arcade button and the steel bar or metal piece to be etched (typically no bigger than .25" x 2" x 8").

Thanks for any help :)

hmm, could you post a schematic how you hooked things up? i might be the wrong person to help out, but there are others too here. And, welcome to ETO! :)