Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

transistor voltage drop

Status
Not open for further replies.

painstream

Hello All,

I have a transistor setup in a Emitter-Follower type Circuit. I get a voltage drop. 1.34V DROP!.

12 V DC Power Supply > transistor > 10K POT > 12V DC 130 mA FAN. . I'm new to electronics. How do I overcome the VDrop?

Thanks for your help.

Hi,

The voltage follower (common collector) is known for it's large voltage drop. The problem stems from the drive voltage however, not the transistor itself. With a DC supply voltage of 12 volts and a drive voltage of 12 volts (directly on the base) the emitter must be around 0.7v down from 12 volts. That's because the base emitter drop is around 0.7 volts. So the best you can do is around 0.7 volts that way. Since yours is 1.34 volts, you should be able to do better than that.

However, with a common emitter topology (PNP emitter goes to 12 volts or NPN emitter goes to ground and collector is output) you can get as low as 0.2 volts or even better with some modern transistors made for low Vce. Check out that configuration and see if it works better for you.
If you connect the NPN emitter to ground and drive the base with say 1k, the collector voltage will drop as low as 0.2 volts or so, so connecting the fan to the collector and to the positive supply rail (12 volts) you'll get a much larger voltage output.