transitor vs relay

Status
Not open for further replies.

etechron

Hi, I have no real experience with creating electronic circuits but I am familiar with the fundamentals.

I need a very simple circuit to create a loopback on a switchport, so there is no "load". The loopback just needs to connect pin 1-2 and 3-6 of the 8pin connector and it probably needs to be low resistance (I'm actually not sure how low but I'm guessing < 5 ohms). So far I've only been able to achieve about 80 ohms with a transitor. I've tried adjusting resistors but can't get it lower. I'm guessing this has something to do with saturation but since most transitor circuits deal with amplifying, I'm not finding relevant info for my case.

Can this be accomplished with a transitor circuit or do I need to use a relay. If relay, can anyone recommend a part number for something readily available. It needs to be as small as possible.

Thanks

Ron

What is the open-circuit voltage across the two wires before closing the switch?
How much current flows through the switch when it is closed?
What is the polarity?
Does the polarity change from +_ to -+?

Depending on your answers, mosfets may work.

Last edited:
A transistor doesn't have a resistance, it has a voltage drop. A relay's contacts have almost no resistance at all, but it will wear out sooner. I would recommend using a solid state solution, but make the feedback using FET (Field Effect Transistor) they have resistances instead of voltage drops, but they are slightly trickier to wire up. It would help if we knew what pin 1, 2, 3 and 6 were.

WELCOME TO ELECTR-TECH-ONLINE
while the resistance of normal transistors when switched ON with base bias, is little higher.
If you need very low resistance while ON it is perhaps possible with power mosfets
like IRF540 at voltages below 50V DC and IRF 830 etc at higher voltages like 230V DC
you need to check the maximum current carrying capacity