Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

trying to trigger multiplexed buttons with 0-5v signal

Status
Not open for further replies.

Triode

I'm a robotic engineer, but I am oddly limited in this case as I can't design the system or modify it much. For an expo they want to hook up real industrial style joysticks to a gaming joystick board for a 3D simulator of our machines, they have already designed the software around the gaming joysticks and assumed that dropping in these other ones would be easy, now they are out of time and gave it to me. They want me to quickly patch the industrial joysticks into the gaming joystick board. I have the analog axes figured out, but the buttons are an issue:

The buttons connect to the main IC by 6 wires, I can't look at it's code, but it seems to be using matrix multiplexing. One wire branches to 4 diodes going to 4 buttons, another has 2 diodes going to 2 buttons, the other 4 wires are returns from those buttons. They are switching at high frequency. The wires from the joystick buttons are 5V normally and go to 0V when pressed.