Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Unsynchronised Blinking LED Array

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi. This is my first time posting at electro-tech-online. I have a fairly simple question for the more advanced electronics afficianados. Here's my question. I have a schematic for a blinking led that runs on a 555 timer chip. The schematic checks out. However I went to lay out five of them in a parallel array and things got screwy. Basically two or more LED's would go off or on at the same time much more often than one would expect to be chance. It's a very slow blink rate so its easy to notice when they swich. I want them to operate as individual lights. The blink rate for each LED is uniform and periodic and is slightly different from the blink rate of the others.

So basically .. how could I better wire a multiple LED array for unsynchronised blinking lights?

Also.. is there software out there where I can test the response of the LED's in a simulated environment?

Any help would be super.
Robert

Attachments

• LED Blinker.jpg
    LED Blinker.jpg
    73.6 KB · Views: 191
hi,
If the 555's are the older TTL type, they can 'inject' noise into the power supply rail, when their output pin #3 change state.

You should always have decoupling capacitors, say a 100nF near the 555 across pin#8 and pin#1 of each 555. also say a 47uF or higher across the supply rails.

Last edited: