Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

UPS Question

Status
Not open for further replies.

gedwards

I am trying to run a cell phone amplifier from my vehicle (which is in a cool, dry spot) so I may relay it to a receiver in my office. I need to power the unit in the car which captures the signal. The power adapter is 12 volts 1.5 amps. I am trying to find a UPS under $200 that will allow this unit to run for 8-9 hours. I am a tech savy person, but not in the electrical world. I was looking a few different units which I am listing below. I welcome all solutions or comments to help me come to my solution! :) Thanks!!

These are all APC, which is brand I have used in the past for in home, but I am not limited to the brand.
https://www.newegg.com/Product/Prod...cm_re=ups_power_supply-_-42-101-393-_-Product
https://www.newegg.com/Product/Prod...cm_re=ups_power_supply-_-42-101-421-_-Product
https://www.newegg.com/Product/Prod...cm_re=ups_power_supply-_-42-101-419-_-Product

Just because the power adapter is rated for 1.5 amps dose not mean the cell phone amplifier draws that much. Do you know how much it draws?

What is going to charge the UPS batteries?

I will take it out every day to charge at home. I do not know how much it draws exactly. I will do some research on that.

Converting power from 12 volts up to 110 volts only to drop it again to 12 volts is going to wast all kinds of power.
You would be better off running it off a 12 volt battery.