Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Using IR Emitters and Detectors for Dance Pad

Status
Not open for further replies.

kcowolf

First of all, I'm a beginner at projects like these, so I apologize for asking any obvious questions.

I have a set of four IR Emitters and Detectors from Radio Shack. I'd like to take apart an Xbox dance pad (**broken link removed**) and wire these to it, but I need some advice on how to do that.

I'm planning to cut off the Xbox plug and solder on a USB plug instead (which I've done before and is straightforward) so I can connect this to a PC, but I'm worried about damaging my USB port or the emitters. The emitter has a maximum voltage of 1.7 V, but I'm not sure how to figure out what resistor I'd need or how to wire it, and I'm not sure if I'll need an external power supply or not.

In short, I'm trying to figure out how to get started with this. If anyone could give me some advice, I'd appreciate it. Thanks.

EDIT: I found these plans for a dance platform using laser diodes, so I'm wondering how much I'd need to change to use the IR diodes instead. Any thoughts?

Last edited:
the emitter voltage tells you what the LED voltage is when on, and you use this to set the current... (VCC - emmiter voltage) / current desired through LED = Resistor Value... if you use current in mA, R will be in Kohms.