Utilizing Unitransducer Ultrasound

Status
Not open for further replies.

freeskier89

Hello,

In a couple of months I am going to need to make a circuit that utilizes a 50W 200khz underwater ultrasound transducer, and I thought it would be wise to get familiar with a 40khz transducer first. I am trying to utilize a lm358 opamp to amplify the signal from the sensor. I am aware that it is probably not the best choice of an op-amp for this application, but I would try to use it if possible.

The MOSFET will deliver the pulses to the transducer and Q2 will serve to route the 12V signals to ground when it is in transmit mode. Why haven't I seen anyone drive a ultrasonic transducer with an h-bridge? Wouldn't it would be the easiest way to get the element to move 2 times better?

If you could glance over the schematic and let me know if you see any major flaws or possible ways to make it better I would appreciate it. If you can't tell it is my first attempt to use op-amps in any sort of circuit, hence that is why I am asking for advice before I make a PCB.

Thanks!

Edit: the two unlabeled resistors on top will be of equal value. Probably 10K or 100K

Attachments

• ultrasonic.jpg
    39.5 KB · Views: 1,260
Last edited:
hi,
Do you plan to use the 200KHz transducer under water or in air?
You will get very little acoustic energy from a 50W 200KHz transducer if you drive it with only 12Volts.

Do you have a part number for the 200KHz transducer, or a picture?
I maybe able to get some techinfo for you.

Looking at your opa's I would check what gain you are expecting, check the
opa negative feedback connections

Regards
Eric

Also, the transducer is capacitve and therefore requires a push-pull driver, a common source switch won't give you much power.

Also that MOSFET is connected up incorrectly, it will be on all the time as (being p-channel) it needs 12V to turn off.

Your PNP transistor is upside-down. Q1 and Q3 don't do anything so what are they for?