Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

uuffff how doess this stupid ting work lol

Status
Not open for further replies.

cyprio7

hi guys, im very new to electronics so pls bare with me. Iv been studying diodes and opamps... rectification circuits in particular but im having great trouble understanding how this particular configuration works.

It is a "Superdiode clamping configuration", which supposedly "eliminates" the approx 0.6V volt drop. How it does this i dont understand and iv been staring at the circuit an i cant work it out. Please if anyone knows could you explain why there is not a loss of 0.6V and how the circuit works overall. Iv attached the circuit. Its meant to provide full wave rectification when the capacitor is replaced with a large resistor Rload >> R2+R1. but i think it only provides half wave rectification.

Please explain to me in dummy language so i can understand because im new to electronics.

Thanks guys

Attachments

• superdiode.jpg
    superdiode.jpg
    12.1 KB · Views: 744
If you are just learning electronics, might i recommend D/L ing, SwitcherCAD III , from linear technology.. its free ..
it takes a little getting used to but is well worth it..
as for your circuit it may well eliminate the 0.6 V diode drop, But as you can imagine , it will not do any usefull rectification ..ie power ..