variable signal to lm3915

Status
Not open for further replies.

jkantelli

I have been trying to figure out how to test a diy oxygen sensor guage. The sensor's values range from 0-1volt. Here is a schematic of the guage

https://www.pelicanparts.com/techarticles/mult_air_fuel_monitor/FIG3.JPG

I am wondering what I can do to use the 7805's 5 volt output to give me different voltage outputs for the signal input.

I basically need to create a signal voltage of .450 volts. I have been trying to figure out what resistors, trimmers, etc to use but I am a noob. Truthfully only .450 volts is needed anything else will only give me estimates of the LEDs to voltage meaning.

Thanks.

You should be able to do it like this.

Attachments

• oxygen sensor tester.PNG
    142.3 KB · Views: 1,136
The circuit won't work:
1) The LM3915 has a logarithmic scale. You want to use the LM3914 that has a linear scale.
2) Pin 6 must be connected to a reference voltage like at pin 7. Then pin 4 must connect to a lower voltage.
3)The resistor from pin 7 to ground has a value way too low so the output current to the LEDs will be way too high. Use 470 ohms for an LED current of 22mA.
4) If you want the displays to be in series for a range of 0V to 1.25V with a resolution of 0.0625V per step then the pin4 of the first LM3914 must be grounded, the pin4 of the second LM3914 must be connected to pin6 of the first LM3914 and the pin6 of the second LM3914 must be connected to its pin 7. It is shown in the datsasheet for the LM3914.

The circuit won't work:
1) The LM3915 has a logarithmic scale. You want to use the LM3914 that has a linear scale.

Whats the difference between the logarithmic scale and linear scale on those drivers?

Why won't it work?