Voltage Biased Transistor

Status
Not open for further replies.

ejector

Hello all,
I am a Beginner to this field, these days i am studying voltage biased common emitter Transistor configuration. The book is showing a pic of this configuration and do not describes the name or number of the transistor. so if i want to build that circuit, how could i with the number missing for the transistor. and my multimeter offers hfe measuring ability. i put 2N3904 transistor and the meter showed 173 hfe of the transistor and the manual of my meter says that i shows shows hfe at 10uA base current with Vce=2.8v. Now i am damn! confused about Beta. can i change value of Beta according to my requirements? i know Beta is dc current gain and hfe is Ac current gain. i know how to use it in solving for dc analysis. But still Confused about it. do i have to use the Beta or hfe given in datasheet? that is only 2 or 3 values for specified Ic. i am confused about it. please make me clear.
Thanks

When you bias the base of a transistor with a voltage divider, then since its hFE and base-emitter voltage are a little different for each transistor and vary when the temperature changes then a series emitter resistor is used so that the transistor can be biased properly.

The emitter resistor helps to automatically adjust the current in the transistor. If the collector to emitter current is too high because the transistor has a low base-emitter voltage requirement or is hot, or because it has a high hFE then the excessive current causes the emitter voltage to increase which reduces the base-emitter voltage which reduces the current. The opposite happens when the current is too low.

Hi,

You can change the beta of the transistor somewhat by changing the DC operating point, but usually you just design the stage to have a gain less than that which the beta can achieve in the design so that it will always work correctly.