Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

voltage modification... newbie question, please help!...

Status
Not open for further replies.

catboy

Hi, firstly sorry if this is a really simple question, but I have no idea about electrics or electronics... Im a mechanical engineer by trade (sorry! ) :oops:

Anyway, I have a voltage signal which varies depending on speed output of a motor, and need a way to alter this voltage. Its 0-12v and low current (a couple of amps max; I can confirm this if its important, but as its a signal, I dont think its very high)

I need something I can put inline with this voltage signal so the output reads zero until the input reaches a pre-defined value, then it can read as normal from there... ie the output reads 0v when the input reads 0 to say 3v, then it jumps to the input value (ie 3v-12v input = 3v-12v output).

Im not sure if this is a good description, but I hope someone can understand it and point me in the direction of a part, or circuit of parts that would do the trick...

I dont know the exact voltage I need it to switch at currently, but I can find this out, or better yet, if someone could tell me what I need to calculate in order to "size" the components, I could do it myself...

Thanks in advance, and sorry if this is a really stupid question...

b :)

Not a stupid question.

But first, what are you going to do with the 3 to 12 volt signal after the first 3 volts has been clamped to 0volts?